top of page

ItzYourzRadio Affiliate, BJ Murphy, Inducted Into The National Black Radio Hall Of Fame

ItzYourzRadio affiliate from the nationally syndicated BJ Murphy Show, BJ Murphy has been inducted into the National Black Radio Hall of Fame. Listen to the BJ Murphy Show, each weekday Mon-Fri 7am-11am and 3pm-6pm. Also listen to the Best of the BJ Murphy Show on Saturdays 4pm-7pm and Sundays 9am-12pm. Listen HERE.

October 7, 2023 will be an “Evening To Remember” as Industry Members are Inducted into the National Black Radio Hall of Fame to be held in Atlanta, Ga. Nominations were sent in earlier this year and the electronic ballots have been counted. National Black Radio Hall of Fame President Bernie Hayes and 2nd VP and Atlanta Chapter President Marsha Washington George have approved the submission of names from Chairperson “Hurricane Dave” Smith and have given him the authority to proceed with the orchestration of the program with the Induction Program Administrator Larry Steele for the 2023 Inductees.

With well over 100 nomination submissions after the final ballot count these are the Inductees for 2023. Their names will be placed in the Museum at Harris Stowe State University with former industry Inductees.

2023 inductees of the National Black Radio Hall of Fame

Talented Sisters of Radio – Terri Avery, Monica May, Denise Williams Talented Brothers of Radio – Ray Boyd, Marvin Ross, Frank Ski Gospel Radio Personality – Erica Campbell, Reggie Gay, Melvin Jones African American Station Owner – Sheila Brown, Mike Carter Radio Station Promotions – Christine Cunningham Record Pool Distributors – TJ’sDJ’s, Franchise Record Pool Talk Radio Personality – Jeff Foxx, Juandolyn Stokes Community Service Industry Award – Chris “Ludacris” Bridges Hip Hop Radio Personality Award – Big Tigger House Music Pioneer Award – DJ Fast Eddie Talented Sisters of Blues Radio Award – Bunny “Bubbling” Brown Sugar Talented Brothers of Blues Radio Award – Tom Davis Dr. Love Radio Music Career Artist of the year – Gladys Knight and the Pips Lifetime Media Achievement Award – Tom Joyner The Broadcasters Chairman’s Leadership Award – David Linton The Posthumous Award – Doug Banks, Mayme and Dave Bondu, Paul E.X. Brown, Leonard Tippy Calloway, Frankie Crocker, Charles Evers, Wayman “Slack” Johnson, Rod “Dr. Jockenstine” King, James “Alley Pat” Patrick, Chico Renfroe, Sr., Joe “Butterball” Tamburro, Larry L. Williams

The Original 13 Pioneer Award Inductees – Earl Boston, Marcus “Doc Feelgood” Boyd, Steve Crumbley, Bruce Demps, Kevin Koolin Fox, Uvee Hayes, John H. “Little Daddy” Hill, III, Patty Jackson, Charles Mitchell, BJ Murphy, Sharon Seay, Reec Swiney, Art Terrell

Special Induction Recognition will be given to John Long of the Georgia Radio Hall of Fame.

Share this:

38 views0 comments


bottom of page